RSS

Investments

27 Aug

treasure-chestWhen I was a child, I remember when any significant amount of money came my way, my father would always tell me to do the same thing, save it. Save the money in the bank until I was older, when I would need the money for really important things like a car, college tuition, and the like.
Of course, I rarely listened. College tuition? That was many years away! Why would anyone pay to go to school in the first place? I hated school! I wanted to spend the money on toys and games, things I could enjoy now.
My father, like so many before him, tried to explain it to me. He tried to explain that one day, I would outgrow all the toys and childish things I held so dearly, that I would discard them and enjoy them no more. It was much wiser to invest the money for my future, for my education, something that could benefit me the rest of my life.
But I did not listen, and just as he predicted, I grew up, and the toys became meaningless (1 Cor 13:11). As an adult, I sometimes wonder if I had invested some of that money, how much I’d have now and how useful it would be.

Our Father in heaven is trying to tell us the same thing.
Matthew 6:19-21 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

Too often we want to be rewarded now. We want a better job, more money, a better car, a bigger house, and so on and so on. We ask God for these things, and He must be shaking His head at us each time. From His eternal point of view, we are all fools. Why do you want that house? It will only decay with time. Why do you want a new car? It will only break down eventually. Why do you want a new job? It will become just as tedious as the last. Many of us might reply, “Of course, everything good comes to an end!” And in this world, we would be right, but it is not true of the Spirit world. The rewards God would give us would never perish, never be stolen, never lose value. They would be priceless and matchless forever in His kingdom. So why wish for things here that will only perish with time when you can have rewards in heaven that will not even be comparable to things on earth? In the end analysis, we will soon, very soon die, and we cannot take any of it with us.

Rejoice when you are not rewarded here, for each deed that goes unrewarded here is a deed that will be rewarded in the afterlife. God has promised us. Hebrews 11:6, 1 Samuel 26:23, and more.

The truth is we lack a spiritual mindset, something we should pray for every day. We see only this world, and while we profess to know of a hereafter, we rarely act as if it exists. We rarely lean on the promises of God, and instead put our love and hope in the things of this world, which we know is perishing. “Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Indeed Lord, indeed.

Heed this my brothers and sisters;
1 Corinthians 3:10-15 “By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as an expert builder, and someone else is building on it. But each one should be careful how he builds. For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ. If any man builds on this foundation using gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay or straw, his work will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each man’s work. If what he has built survives, he will receive his reward. If it is burned up, he will suffer loss; he himself will be saved, but only as one escaping through the flames.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 27, 2007 in Sanctification

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
