RSS

No Place Like Home

17 Oct

“I wanna go home!” I can remember as a kid, these words always meant the start of a difficult conversation to my parents. It’s not like I never wanted to go anywhere, but when I had enough of where we went I was ready to go back home. Home was familiar, it was cozy, it was safe, it was where my toys and games were. It was where I wanted to be.

My parents always tried to make me understand. “We can’t go home yet. We have things to do here. When we are finished doing what we need to do we will go home. I promise.” Sometimes they said “You never know, if you would stop complaining and look around you might actually find something you enjoy here.” Sometimes, if I did as I was told I would find something I liked, and my parents never broke their promise; when they finished what they needed to do, they always took me home again.

Sometimes life on this ball of dirt can get quite distressing, especially to believers because we know of a much better place that is our real home. We who are called by Christ are strangers in a foreign land, and we all want to go home. Home is where our Father is, where our Savior is, where our treasures are, and where we will be safe.

Sometimes I cry out to the Lord “I want to go home!”. I can almost hear Him say “Child you cannot come home yet. We still have work to do. When the work is finished I promise I will take you home. You never know, if you would stop complaining and look around you might find something to enjoy while you are here.”

John 9:4, John 14:1-4

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 17, 2007 in Sanctification

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “No Place Like Home

  1. Ginger Gail <><

    October 18, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    I can so empathize with you! More and more frequently, I beg Jesus, “please come now!” But, just like He tells you, I hear the same message, “there’s still work to do.” How great will it be to get to go home on that awesome glorious day!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
