RSS

Best Friends Forever?

08 Aug

Many of us who walk with the Lord Jesus Christ see Him as our kind and compassionate friend, among other things.

In many sermons of late, however, I have heard many preachers say something to the effect; “Too many Christians see God as a friend and buddy, and fail to treat Him with respect. They call on Him only when they need Him, and are quick to leave Him or deny Him when it is convenient.”

Because of this, some people say we should not view God as a friend, or we won’t treat Him with the proper love and respect, but I say what is your definition of a friend? Is a friend someone you only call upon to solve your problems? Is a friend someone you would walk away from or deny in a time of crisis or hardship? Perhaps our view of God as a friend is not the problem, but instead it is our idea of what friendship is that is flawed.

Our Lord said that there is no greater love than a man lay down his life for his friends. (John 15:13)

A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity. (Proverbs 17:17)

Do not forsake your friend and the friend of your father, and do not go to your brother’s house when disaster strikes you— better a neighbor nearby than a brother far away. (Proverbs 27:10)

These are only a sample of what the Word has to tell us about true friendship and brotherhood. So I say yes, the Lord Christ is my good friend, my best friend, my everlasting friend, and at times, He has been my only friend. I will serve Him faithfully as a loyal friend and will lay down my life daily as a living sacrifice for Him. Blessed is the name of the Lord, who is my trusted friend.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2008 in Christology

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Best Friends Forever?

  1. Brandon Skaggs

    August 8, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    I absoultly agree with you Jason. The Word tells us once we accept Christ we become the adopted children of God. What better big brother could we have? If a person veiws their friendships in a lesser role of respect and love they need to see what the Word has to say.

     
  2. Kewon Foster

    August 11, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Wonderful post my good friend. You have been such a blessing to me and I will miss seeing your face. Continue to keep God first and never give up on people, because God can change anyone who is willing to change. Your post about God being our friend has blessed my spirit. I consider Jesus to be my best friend and I will spend the rest of my life serving Him with my whole heart. God Bless you brother.

     

Leave a Reply

 
