RSS

Lose Yourself

04 Sep

“Whoever seeks to keep his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life will preserve it.” Luke 17:33

As I walk in this life, more and more I find myself attempting to keep my own life, or save it, or hold onto it. The tighter I hold onto it, the more of it slips away, leaving me hollow and unfulfilled.

Most Christians know this passage and testify to it, but what exactly is “keeping your own life”, and how might that result in its loss?

Our sinful nature inclines us to keep our life in various ways. Here are some of them.

1. I’ve got my own agenda.
The only agenda that should matter to us is God’s agenda. When we lay claim to our own agenda, we are trying to keep that part of our life and not surrender it to God. We lose it because anything not of the Lord is doomed to inevitable failure (Proverbs 19:21) or will end in personal disaster (James 1:15).

2. I’ve got my rights.
As slaves to Christ, we have no rights. God gives us gifts out of His love for us, but we deserve nothing. There are no “inalienable rights” as a famous document claims. God clearly states there are only two positions available to Mankind: slavery to Christ, resulting in Life, or slavery to sin, resulting in death.(Romans 6:16)

3. This is more important.
Nothing is more important than God’s work. To be clear, God’s work includes more than evangelism. God’s will for you is to also love your neighbors, serve others, take care of your family, etc. The rest of life is junk. Worthless dust and shadow that will pass away in the End. Only three things will remain after the Day of the Lord, Faith, Hope and Love, the greatest of which is Love. (1 Corinthians 13) What you have done to grow and support those three things will go with you into Eternity. The rest burns away. (1 Cor. 3:11-15)

4. I need this.
If what you seek truly is a need, then God Himself will provide it. You need only to do as you are told by God, loving others and serving the Kingdom, and what you need will become yours. (Matthew 6:33)

The more I let go of my agenda and perceived rights, the more I realize only what God wants is important, and the more I realize He will provide my every need if I but serve Him and others, the more I am blessed, and the more I live the life Christ talked about. I’m a long way from where I want to be, but I encourage you to come with me and lose your life so that it may be found.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2009 in Sanctification

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Lose Yourself

  1. Brandon Skaggs

    September 4, 2009 at 11:33 am

    I would like to say I loss myself to Christ when I came under conviction and accepted Christ as a young adult. As you know Jason that was not the case and it was many years later I surrendered my rights, agendas, and needs over to God. When I moved my junk out of the way God had room to work. Of course to my great surprise and overwhelmed joy He had such a great purpose waiting for me. I believe God has many wonderful and limitless gifts waiting for His children if only they would be willing to accept them. It is like when I was a child at Christmas. If I saw ten small boxes and one giant box to be unwrapped, I would go for the greater gift first. God has such a gift for all of those who love Him. We just have to quit opening the "gifts" the world gives.Matthew 6:19-21"Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.New Bloghttp://discipleletters.wordpress.com/

     
  2. Jason Cohoon

    September 6, 2009 at 11:50 am

    Good words brother, and as you know, my testimony is very similar.Even both you and I have made great strides in surrendering ourselves to Christ, we both also have a long way to go yet. The more I get right in my Walk, the more I find I need to work on. Every hilltop we reach reveals the next valley we must traverse, such is carrying the Cross of Christ.

     

Leave a Reply

 
