RSS

Fear Not, I Will Go With You

12 Apr

moses-and-burning-bushToday my son was supposed to sing in front of the whole church with his fellow children’s choir buddies. He was scared and did not want to go. He began to cry.

Many options raced through my mind. Do I threaten him with discipline if he doesn’t? Do I tell him to suck it up and be a man? Do I give in and let him sit it out?

What would the Father do?

My mind went back to Exodus 3 and the Burning Bush. God appeared to Moses and told him to go to the most powerful man in the world and tell him to let God’s people go. Moses was afraid and did not want to go. What did God say?

“That’s OK Moses, I’ll pick someone else.”

No.

“Moses, if you don’t go, I’ll punish you.”

No.

He said, “You have to go, but I will go with you.

So I told my son, “You must go up there, but I will go with you. I won’t leave you alone and I will be there the whole time.”

My son said, “OK daddy. Thank you.” and he stopped crying.

So I went with him and knelt down beside him and held his hand. And he stood brave and resolute. All because daddy was there with him.

I have learned two things from this.

1. We can face anything because God is with us. Just as my presence calmed my son’s fears, so remembering that God is with me will calm mine.

2. I need to stop acting like a human parent and start acting like a supernatural one. I need to act more like God the Father to my children. He is the perfect father.

My charge to today is to remember that God the Father goes with you wherever you go. By His spirit we cry, “Abba, Father!” He loves us like little children. We must go and do the hard things, He will not shelter us from them, but He will go with us every step of the way.

Likewise, we fathers should be so towards our own children, especially our sons. Do not treat them harshly, but do not shelter them from the hard stuff. Instead, go with them and be with them side by side. You may not think much of yourself (I sure don’t) but to your kid you are the strong and mighty father who can defeat any foe and protect them from any harm. In time they must learn we are not as strong as they suppose but there is One who Is. Until then, you must be that man for them. Beside you, they will believe they can do anything. With Him, they really will be.

“Fear not, I will go with you.”

Send them into the darkness, but go with them.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2015 in Theology

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Fear Not, I Will Go With You

  1. Brandon Skaggs

    April 13, 2015 at 2:31 pm

    Great encouragement and challenge to godly fathers.

     
  2. Joey Norsworthy

    April 13, 2015 at 5:46 pm

    Very good word Jason. I am blessed to have witnessed this event. The value of this lesson is immeasurable.

     

Leave a Reply

 
